jump to navigation

Big News Day in the Lotus World… July 10, 2008

Posted by Glenn Irvine in Blog, Commentary.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

First the news that Alan Lepofsky is leaving IBM and off to SocialText, and I attended a Distributor Launch event for Foundations, read an interesting article on “The six commandments of social networking at work” on ComputerWorld, and we are gearing up for the launch of the iPhone here in Australia tomorrow morning. (Backing up my current iPhone tonight in anticipation of picking up my new 3G model in the morning.)

All the best to Alan… I have followed his blog second only to Ed Brill’s for some time now, and SocialText will be picking up a great asset in Alan.

With the Lotus Foundations breakfast, I see a great potential with this product for the micro to small business market here in Australia. I’m hoping the Bluewash process doesn’t take the shine off the Nitix value proposition for their products. I was impressed with the ease of install demonstrated by Matt Webb in the presentation.

The article on Social Networking is an excellent one, and in summary nails some important issues with the 6 main points the author has made.

  1. Thou shalt present yourself respectfully and honestly
  2. Thou shalt ask: Do I want to explain this to an employer in 10 years? Or to my boss now?
  3. Thou shalt set boundaries
  4. Thou shalt not limit thy employees’ time on social networks*
    *Unless it seriously cuts into their productivity
  5. Thou shalt not leave thy employees to founder, but lay down workplace guidelines
  6. Thou shalt remember: We are all still figuring this out

Well worth the read…

And finally, The official launch of the 3G iPhone here in Australia takes place in some stores in less than 2 hours with midnight openings in the major CBDs… I’m going to wait for the civilised opening of a local telco franchise in the morning (Too old to be queuing in the middle of winter at Midnight), and besides, I’ve had an iPhone for the last 9 months or so, so the wow factor is well and truely past. I am however looking forward to the 3G capability as I have had to settle for the Wireless connectivity to date.

I will be very keen to see the new iNotes functionality in 8.0.2 for supporting the iPhone. So far the best I have had is wireless access to Webmail… You can read it but not author new emails.

I’m looking forward to posting my next Blog entry via the 3G capability on the iPhone tomorrow!

Regards,

Glenn Irvine
glenn.irvine@thelotusposition.net

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

